Don’t let the darkness pf the past cover the brightness of the future (part 2)

5407-darjeeling-doggycontinued from here.

I couldn’t talk to anyone or rather nobody was willing to talk to me at this point, so I took the help of our loyal friend Matku, the society dog. He was actually a stray dog but a few people from the society gave him milk and biscuits from time to time, so for this reason he would stay near the society gates. He was like our watch dog. He was brown and white in color, healthy, and ferocious for the people he considered a threat.

I went downstairs to the local hardware store and got small spy cameras. I immediately installed one of them on Matku’s collar and got him inside my house. A few hours later towards the evening, we both went downstairs for a round around the society and faked receiving a call. I let his rope go and went to the other direction as him. People seeing Matku came up to him and played with him not knowing he had a spy camera attached to his collar. I came back half an hour later and took him home. I installed the camera on my laptop and watched the footage from it. My little experiment had worked.

Next step was to lay down the trap. For that I would need to make an announcement in the society.

‘A brand new Samsung gear S2 watch has been found in the garden–3. Whoever it belongs to please collect it from house no. 401 tower 2.’

This message was sent to every person in the society via the society email. That is, the email from which all society related information was sent to the residents. For this, I had to bribe the technician who took care of all the media messages to be sent to the residents.

Now all that was left to do was to wait and watch. I waited till 7 ‘o clock, till sun down to get ready to go out of the house. I made sure that my neighbours and the guard downstairs saw me go out of the society. I had, cleverly, installed the camera on my smart phone and left Matku inside the house. I could very well see inside my house via Matku’s collar.

There was a gate towards the backside of the society where hardly anybody went; the guards also were busy chit chatting. So, I swiftly went inside the gate and hid in the dark monitoring my house.

An hour later, there was an activity because Matku quickly got up and was alert as if somebody was entering the house. And there he was the burglar who was doing the deed I was being blamed for.

I ran upstairs, children and parents looking at me as if I had completely lost it but I didn’t care and continued running, I turned the lights on it was Samir, the society manager. All this time he was hidden behind his role, his duty as a manager and nobody thought it would be him.

Samir was the opposite of me; he didn’t talk very much just point to point. He was a very kind and subdued man who lived his life very simply.  His appearance made him look like a scholarly student who was always into his books with big black rimmed glasses covering his eyes, checked shirt beige trousers every day of the week. He couldn’t bare the fact that anyone was annoyed or unhappy with him so he made sure he satisfied everyone he was connected with.

“Hey, come out here. Come and see for your selves” I shouted and called everyone to my house.

“Why do you do it, what do you get out of it?” I asked and Samir started to run but Rajveer came at the right time and caught him as soon as he started to sprint. He put his arms back to tie them with a rope and made him sit on a chair with all of us surrounding him.

Due to the commotion people quickly gathered around the house and saw the reality for themselves.

“I have a fixation for these electronics, I need to have them. Whenever I see something new I get kind of insane till the time I get it or steal it. I was never a thief but stealing seemed to be the easier option since nobody knew it was me and everything was within my reach. I had the duplicate keys to all the apartments in case of emergencies and I just took advantage of that” he explained with his head bowed down.

The police was called immediately and he was taken into custody. Rajveer and other residents apologized to me for not believing in me and expressed grief for the way they had treated me.

All of us live with our past. All of us allow it to shape our future. But some of us know how to shrug the past. I think that is who I am, I knew what I had done was wrong but I had to do it to save my family to save myself. I lived with it, I paid a heavy price for it but I moved on, I picked up the pieces of my life and started afresh. It was exhilarating to feel that I could do so much when the need arises. Our brain has so much information stored but we are not able to access all of it all the time. It works differently in different situations and makes us do diverse things which we thought were not possible for us to do. Now I feel I’m free from all the humiliation and dilemma I had to go through, I feel a sense of relief. I can sleep a good nights’ sleep tonight.

The End

Leave a comment